LAPC in Action

Follow Me on Pinterest

LAPC Tweets


Los Angeles Press Club
A non-profit organization with
501(c)(3) status
Tax ID 01-0761875

4773 Hollywood Boulevard
Los Angeles, California 90027
Phone: (323) 669-8081
Fax: (310) 464-3577


Robert Kovacik

Vice President
Patt Morrison
Los Angeles Times/KPCC

Anthony Palazzo
Bloomberg News

Christina Villacorte
Los Angeles Daily News

Gloria Zuurveen
Pace News

Executive Director
Diana Ljungaeus
International Journalist



Barbara Gasser
International Journalist

Jahan Hassan
Ekush News

Gabriel Kahn
USC Innovation Lab

Fernando Mexia
Spanish EFE News Service

Tony Pierce
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences

Carolina Sarassa

Ben Sullivan

______________________ ADVISORY BOARD

Eli Broad
Founder, The Eli and Edythe Broad Foundation

Rick J. Caruso
Founder & Chief Executive Officer, Caruso Affiliated

Madeline Di Nonno
Chief Executive Officer, Geena Davis Institute on Gender in Media

David W. Fleming
Counsel, Latham & Watkins LLP

Sherry Lansing
CEO, The Sherry Lansing Foundation

George E. Moss
Chairman, Moss Group

Constance L. Rice
Co-Director, Advancement Project

Hon. Richard J. Riordan
former Mayor of Los Angeles

Ramona Ripston
former Executive Director, ACLU of Southern California

Hon. Bill Rosendahl
former Councilmember, City of Los Angeles

Angelica Salas
Director, CHIRLA

Carol E. Schatz
President & CEO, Downtown Center Business Imrovement District

Gary L. Toebben
President & CEO, Los Angeles Area Chamber of Commerce

Matt Toledo
Publisher, Los Angeles Business Journal

Stuart Waldman ­
President, Valley Industry & Commerce Association

Woodward & Bernstein to be Honored On 40th Anniversary of Watergate Break-in

Bob Woodward and Carl Bernstein to Accept 2012 Los Angeles Press Club’s President’s Award



Bernstein, Woodward in The Washington Post newsroom, circa 1972

Next year marks a major milestone in American journalism: the 40th anniversary of Bob Woodward and Carl Bernstein’s pioneering reporting on the Watergate scandal.

Woodward and Bernstein’s series of articles for The Washington Post unraveled the biggest American political scandal to date, culminating in President Richard Nixon’s resignation in 1974. Four decades later, the stories still stand as a bellwether of investigative journalism.

To mark the occasion, the Los Angeles Press Club will honor Woodward and Bernstein with the 2012 President’s Award. The Pulitzer-prize winning journalists will accept the award in person at the 54th annual Southern California Journalism Awards.

“Because of their fearless reporting, American journalism would never be the same,” said LA Press Club President Will Lewis. “The President’s Award goes to individuals who have had an impact on media. I can think of no one who deserves this award more than Bob Woodward and Carl Bernstein.”

The scandal that made Woodward and Bernstein the most famous reporters in America started with a mysterious break-in at the Democratic Party headquarters in Washington, D.C.’s Watergate office complex, by five burglars dressed in business suits. Starting from that one bizarre event, Woodward and Bernstein followed a trail of clues that reached ever-higher to eventually expose a wide-ranging conspiracy of political sabotage aimed at undermining the electoral process. The revelations exposed a previously little-seen dark side of American politics and led to the indictments of 40 White House and administration officials. Ultimately, President Richard Nixon resigned on Aug 9, 1974.

Along the way, Woodward and Bernstein became household names synonymous with investigative journalism. Their work on the story has been credited with inspiring generations of journalists, the formation of entire investigative teams at newspapers and increased media scrutiny of the White House. It also helped raise the Washington Post to international stature. Public trust in the federal government has never been the same since. To this day, the media still tacks on the suffix “gate” when referring to major political scandals.

As media critic Ben Bagdikian told the American Journalism Review in 2004, Woodward and Bernstein produced “the single most spectacular act of serious journalism [of the 20th] century.”

Woodward and Bernstein’s work on the stories earned the Washington Post a Pulitzer Prize in 1973. Their collaboration also expanded into two best-selling books, “All the President’s Men” and “The Final Days.” The hit 1976 movie version of “All the President’s Men” starred Robert Redford as Woodward and Dustin Hoffman as Bernstein, and won several Academy Awards.

The story of Watergate continues to live on. In 2005, the news media was abuzz when Vanity Fair magazine identified Woodward and Bernstein’s famed anonymous source, “Deep Throat” as former FBI official Mark Felt. More recently, the National Archives in November released transcripts of Nixon’s grand jury testimony in 1975, making international headlines.

Yet Watergate is not Woodward and Bernstein’s only claim to fame. Woodward, who graduated from Yale University in 1965 and started his career at the Montgomery County Maryland) Sentinel, remains at the Washington Post to this day. He has won nearly every major American journalism award during his career, and has authored or co-authored twelve #1 national bestsellers. His books include “Bush at War,” “Plan of Attack” and “Obama’s Wars.” The television program “60 Minutes” has produced segments on seven of Woodward’s books, and three of his books have been turned into movies.

Bernstein, who went to work at age 16 as a copyboy for The Washington Star and joined the Post staff six years later, has written for numerous publications in the years since Watergate. His work has appeared in Vanity Fair (for which he is also a contributing editor), Time, USA Today, The New York Times and The New Republic. He has served as Washington Bureau Chief and correspondent for ABC News, a political analyst for CNN. His books include the biography “A Woman in Charge: The Life of Hilary Rodham Clinton”and “Loyalties,” a memoir about his parents during McCarthy-era Washington.


Comments are closed.