“CBS This Morning” to be Honored with L.A. Press Club’s Presidents Award

“CBS This Morning” to be Honored with LA Press Club’s Presidents Award

Charlie Rose, Gayle King and Norah O’Donnell, hosts of “CBS This Morning”, will be honored with the Los Angeles Press Club’s 2015 President’s Award for Impact on Media


Since the launch of the program in 2012, the charismatic anchor trio and their production team have brought serious news and original storytelling back to the morning television landscape, while increasing viewership and providing the day’s need-to-know headlines.

“The CBS This Morning team proves that there is a craving for serious morning news along with that cup of java. The obvious chemistry among the three co-anchors greatly contributes to the excitement and charm of this show,” said LA Press Club Executive Director Diana Ljungaeus. “The President’s Award goes to three individuals who have helped bring integrity back to morning news and hence impressively impacted media. No one deserves this award more than this dynamic trio.”

“We are honored to learn that our approach to creating a substantive, relevant morning television broadcast has garnered the attention and praise of such an esteemed organization as the LA Press Club,” said Chris Licht, Vice President of News Programming and Executive Producer of “CBS This Morning.”

The Awards Gala will be held on Sunday, June 28, in the Chrystal Ballroom at the Millennium Biltmore Hotel, downtown Los Angeles. It is a classy, upscale affair with the direct involvement and participation of some 550 influential journalists and media executives. These individuals represent companies such as Los Angeles Times, LA Weekly, NBC4, KPCC, KNX, Wall Street Journal, Bloomberg News, The Hollywood Reporter, People Magazine, Variety, Fox, and many other prominent organizations.On the same evening the LA Press Club will honor Charlie Hebdo with the Daniel Pearl Award for Courage and Integrity in Journalism, presented by the slain journalist’s parents Judea and Ruth Pearl (and to be accepted by Charlie Hebdo’s Editor-in-Chief Gerard Biard and current lead cartoonist Luz). In addition, some of Southern California’s most notable reporters, editors, anchors, and bloggers will claim their winning plaques for best work of 2014.

In recent years the LA Press Club have honored Michael Bloomberg, Matthew Winkler, Ann Curry, Maria Shriver, Bob Woodward, Carl Bernstein, Lesley Stahl, Anderson Cooper, Richard Engel, Bob Woodruff and Steve Lopez, to mention a few. Presenters have included a slew of TV and film personalities such as Sean Penn, Martin Sheen, Bill Maher, Ron Perlman, Ed Asner, Charles Shaughnessy, Wendie Malick, Dan Lauria, Robert Forster, Arnold Schwarzenegger and Dick Gregory.

Proceeds from the Gala is the largest source of income for the Los Angeles Press Club, a 501(c) 3 that speaks for journalists across all media platforms.

Related posts

Leave a Comment