LAPC in Action

Follow Me on Pinterest

LAPC Tweets


Los Angeles Press Club
A non-profit organization with
501(c)(3) status
Tax ID 01-0761875

4773 Hollywood Boulevard
Los Angeles, California 90027
Phone: (323) 669-8081
Fax: (310) 464-3577


Robert Kovacik

Vice President
Patt Morrison
Los Angeles Times/KPCC

Anthony Palazzo
Bloomberg News

Christina Villacorte
Los Angeles Daily News

Gloria Zuurveen
Pace News

Executive Director
Diana Ljungaeus
International Journalist



Barbara Gasser
International Journalist

Jahan Hassan
Ekush News

Gabriel Kahn
USC Innovation Lab

Fernando Mexia
Spanish EFE News Service

Tony Pierce
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences

Carolina Sarassa

Ben Sullivan

______________________ ADVISORY BOARD

Eli Broad
Founder, The Eli and Edythe Broad Foundation

Rick J. Caruso
Founder & Chief Executive Officer, Caruso Affiliated

Madeline Di Nonno
Chief Executive Officer, Geena Davis Institute on Gender in Media

David W. Fleming
Counsel, Latham & Watkins LLP

Sherry Lansing
CEO, The Sherry Lansing Foundation

George E. Moss
Chairman, Moss Group

Constance L. Rice
Co-Director, Advancement Project

Hon. Richard J. Riordan
former Mayor of Los Angeles

Ramona Ripston
former Executive Director, ACLU of Southern California

Hon. Bill Rosendahl
former Councilmember, City of Los Angeles

Angelica Salas
Director, CHIRLA

Carol E. Schatz
President & CEO, Downtown Center Business Imrovement District

Gary L. Toebben
President & CEO, Los Angeles Area Chamber of Commerce

Matt Toledo
Publisher, Los Angeles Business Journal

Stuart Waldman ­
President, Valley Industry & Commerce Association

54th SoCal Journalism Awards: Gala at Biltmore to honor Woodward & Bernstein, David Goldstein, Pearl Family


Tickets - Rate Card -  Silent Auction Donation Form - AD Specs - 54th invite

54th Annual LA Press Club Awards to name finalists for best work in 2011 by journalists filing on all media platforms.

Woodward & Bernstein applauded at Wash. Post Watergate event 6/11 in DC

The commemoration of the 40th anniversary of the biggest political scandal in American history moves from Washington, D.C. to Los Angeles on Sunday, June 24.

Direct from the Washington Post reunion at the Watergate apartments, Bob Woodward and
Carl Bernstein will receive the Los Angeles Press Club President’s Award for Impact on the Media at the 54th Southern California Journalism Awards Gala at the historic Biltmore Hotel.

“These two young, city-side reporters,” said Will Lewis, press club president, “not only fearlessly followed the conspiracy to the White House, but they put their stamp on modern investigative reporting.”

The award will be presented by the actor who played a president for seven years on West Wing and the most popular actress on television.

Martin Sheen and Pauley Perrette, who stars on NCI, head a roster of celebrity and media presenters who include Ron Perlman, Dan Lauria, Patt Harvey, Jodi Long, Patt Morrison, Robert Kovacik and Jodi Long. Returning as emcee for a third straight year is Jack Maxwell.

They will help handout first place trophies for the best reporting and photography across all media platforms in 2011.

Winners will have been chosen by press clubs across the nation from a record 750 entries in one of the oldest and largest journalism competitions, not just in Southern California, but the nation as well.

David Goldstein, investigative reporter for CBS2/KCAL9, will accept the Quinn Award for Lifetime Achievement. Public Service Award goes to the KCET SoCal Connected team of investigative journalists for their expose of lavish spending at HACLA, the agency in charge of housing for L.A.’s poor.

Accepting the 10th anniversary presentation of the Daniel Pearl Award for Courage will be the Pearl Family for their work in bringing middle east and other journalists to the work and study.   The award is named for the Wall Street Journal reporter who was brutally murdered by terrorists after 9/11.

Major sponsors of the Awards Gala are Wells Fargo and Southern California Public Radio, KPCC.

The Los Angeles Press Club, the largest and oldest journalistic organization in the Southland, traces its beginnings to the early years of the 20th century. Its membership is open to reporters, editors, bloggers and photographers who file on all media platforms.

Its primary mission is to encourage and reward serious journalism in Southern California.






Comments are closed.