Southern California Journalism Awards


The Southern California Journalism Awards were born during the Cold War, when Los Angeles journalism was dominated by the city’s many newspapers. Television was in its infancy. Developments like all-news radio were still years away. Women journalists were rare in mainstream media. Minorities, even rarer.

Today we see greater diversity in the newsroom and in the ways we provide information. The Press Club has been striving to embrace Internet journalists and bloggers — clearly the wave of the future.

The Southern California Journalism Awards, now celebrating 59 years of recognizing high-caliber journalism, continues to call attention to LA's fine journalists while promoting excellence in new and emerging media.



Presidents Award

The Presidents Award was conceived to recognize an individual member’s dedication of energy and effort on behalf of the Greater Los Angeles Press Club, and whose work has the most impact on media.

Daniel Pearl Award

The Daniel Pearl Memorial Award is given for courage and integrity in journalism.

Joseph M. Quinn Award

The Joseph M. Quinn Memorial Award for Journalistic Achievement and Distinction is the highest honor bestowed by the Los Angeles Press Club.

Winners join a select group of distinguished journalists, including a number of Pulitzer Prize and Peabody Award winners.

Bill Rosendahl Award

The Press Club reserves this award for journalists who's work affects major change in their communities and beyond.


Alonzo Bodden is the L.A. Press Club's go-to comedian.

His quicksilver wit and hilarious insight into the news has forced us to laugh at ourselves and our profession.

At previous SoCal Journalism Awards and National Arts & Entertainment Journalism Awards shows he has rocked the house and been praised by the likes of Quincy Jones and comedy legend Carl Reiner.

America knows Alonzo as the winner of season three of "Last Comic Standing." His career as both comedian and actor continues to soar.