LAPC in Action

Follow Me on Pinterest

LAPC Tweets


Los Angeles Press Club
A non-profit organization with
501(c)(3) status
Tax ID 01-0761875

4773 Hollywood Boulevard
Los Angeles, California 90027
Phone: (323) 669-8081
Fax: (310) 464-3577


Robert Kovacik

Vice President
Patt Morrison
Los Angeles Times/KPCC

Anthony Palazzo
Bloomberg News

Christina Villacorte
Los Angeles Daily News

Gloria Zuurveen
Pace News

Executive Director
Diana Ljungaeus
International Journalist



Barbara Gasser
International Journalist

Jahan Hassan
Ekush News

Gabriel Kahn
USC Innovation Lab

Fernando Mexia
Spanish EFE News Service

Tony Pierce
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences

Carolina Sarassa

Ben Sullivan

______________________ ADVISORY BOARD

Eli Broad
Founder, The Eli and Edythe Broad Foundation

Rick J. Caruso
Founder & Chief Executive Officer, Caruso Affiliated

Madeline Di Nonno
Chief Executive Officer, Geena Davis Institute on Gender in Media

David W. Fleming
Counsel, Latham & Watkins LLP

Sherry Lansing
CEO, The Sherry Lansing Foundation

George E. Moss
Chairman, Moss Group

Constance L. Rice
Co-Director, Advancement Project

Hon. Richard J. Riordan
former Mayor of Los Angeles

Ramona Ripston
former Executive Director, ACLU of Southern California

Hon. Bill Rosendahl
former Councilmember, City of Los Angeles

Angelica Salas
Director, CHIRLA

Carol E. Schatz
President & CEO, Downtown Center Business Imrovement District

Gary L. Toebben
President & CEO, Los Angeles Area Chamber of Commerce

Matt Toledo
Publisher, Los Angeles Business Journal

Stuart Waldman ­
President, Valley Industry & Commerce Association


Proclamation from Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors honoring Los Angeles Press Club.

Whereas the Los Angeles Press Club was established in 1913 as a gathering spot and watering hole for journalists in the halcyon days when a half-dozen daily newspapers loudly clamored for scoops, circulation and advertising in the burgeoning metropolis of Los Angeles; and

Whereas after its fading away during the depression and world war II, news reporters from the city’s surviving four daily newspapers revived the organization in 1946 as the greater Los Angeles Press Club, having lost the original name to a nightclub in the interim; and
Whereas highlights of the Press Club’s colorful history include inducting actress Marilyn Monroe as the first “Miss Press Club”, and hosting president Harry S. Truman as a luncheon speaker as he was preparing to run for re-election; and
Whereas after settling into permanent quarters at 6th and Vermont from the 1960s to the 1980s, the Press Club once more fell victim to changing times and shrinking membership, buy yet again, like a phoenix rising from the ashes, under new leadership and surge in dynamic younger membership in the 1990s, the Press Club has in recent years enjoyed a revival and today looks forward with confidence to an active leadership role in the evolving Los Angeles media and journalism scene:
Now, therefore, be it resolved by the board of supervisors of the county of Los Angeles that the Los Angeles Press Club is hereby highly commended for a century of service to the people of Los Angeles and the community of journalists who live by H.L. Mencken’s admonition to comfort the afflicted, and afflict the comfortable, and the club and its members are extended sincere congratulations on reaching this extraordinary centennial milestone, with best wishes for continued success in all future endeavors for many years to come.
Adopted by order of the board of supervisors of the county of Los Angeles, state of California. It is supervisor Zev Yaroslavski to the right in the picture together with Executive Director Diana Ljungaeus, Patt Morrison and Gloria Zuurveen.