LAPC in Action

Follow Me on Pinterest

LAPC Tweets


Los Angeles Press Club
A non-profit organization with
501(c)(3) status
Tax ID 01-0761875

4773 Hollywood Boulevard
Los Angeles, California 90027
Phone: (323) 669-8081
Fax: (310) 464-3577


Robert Kovacik

Vice President
Patt Morrison
Los Angeles Times/KPCC

Anthony Palazzo
Bloomberg News

Christina Villacorte
Los Angeles Daily News

Gloria Zuurveen
Pace News

Executive Director
Diana Ljungaeus
International Journalist



Barbara Gasser
International Journalist

Jahan Hassan
Ekush News

Gabriel Kahn
USC Innovation Lab

Fernando Mexia
Spanish EFE News Service

Tony Pierce
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences

Carolina Sarassa

Ben Sullivan

______________________ ADVISORY BOARD

Eli Broad
Founder, The Eli and Edythe Broad Foundation

Rick J. Caruso
Founder & Chief Executive Officer, Caruso Affiliated

Madeline Di Nonno
Chief Executive Officer, Geena Davis Institute on Gender in Media

David W. Fleming
Counsel, Latham & Watkins LLP

Sherry Lansing
CEO, The Sherry Lansing Foundation

George E. Moss
Chairman, Moss Group

Constance L. Rice
Co-Director, Advancement Project

Hon. Richard J. Riordan
former Mayor of Los Angeles

Ramona Ripston
former Executive Director, ACLU of Southern California

Hon. Bill Rosendahl
former Councilmember, City of Los Angeles

Angelica Salas
Director, CHIRLA

Gary L. Toebben
President & CEO, Los Angeles Area Chamber of Commerce

Matt Toledo
Publisher, Los Angeles Business Journal

Stuart Waldman ­
President, Valley Industry & Commerce Association

CBS2/KCAL9 Investigative Reporter David Goldstein Wins Quinn Award for Lifetime Achievement

CBS2/KCAL9 investigative reporter David Goldstein has been named by the board of directors of the Los Angeles Press Club as the 2012 winner of the coveted Joseph M. Quinn Memorial Award for lifetime achievement.


“His reporting is synonymous with serious journalism in local TV news,” said LA Press Club President Will Lewis. “David has covered the major events that help define modern Los Angeles—from the trial of LAPD officers accused of beating Rodney King, the OJ Simpson trial and the LA riots.”

As a Quinn winner, Goldstein follows in the footsteps of Walter Cronkite (‘80), Otis Chandler (’84), Ted Koppel and Bill Stout (’87), Jack Smith (’91) and Pat Harvey (’04).

Goldstein will share the stage at the 54th LA Press Club Journalism Awards Gala June 24 with Bob Woodward and Carl Bernstein of Watergate fame, along with the first place winners of the Southland’s largest media awards competition now underway.

Goldstein is the 2011 recipient of the Television Journalist of the Year award from the Los Angeles Press Club. In his more than 15 years reporting in LA, David has been nominated for more than 15 Emmy awards and has won a half dozen Golden Mike Awards.

He was a founding member of KCAL’s Primetime newscast, having joined the station in 1989.

His investigative reports have led to immediate results.

An investigation into the illegal placement of registered sex offenders prompted the resignation of the head of the State Department of Corrections and the implementation of a statewide task force to overhaul the system.

A report on the potential of sex offenders being hired to play Santa during the Christmas season prompted a new bill in the state legislature.

A report on the California Department of Corrections selling used assault rifles and the CHP selling confiscated weapons led to a statewide ban on future sales.

And David’s undercover investigation of a doctor who illegally prescribed pain medication led to the arrest of the physician and the suspension of his license.

David Goldstein grew up in the suburbs of New York City and graduated from George Washington University with a degree in Journalism and Broadcasting.  He was a reporter at WCBS-TV in New York and has also worked as an investigative reporter in Miami.

In his spare time he likes to jog and play tennis.



Comments are closed.