52nd SoCal Journalism Awards Gala, June 27 at 5 p.m.

Friday, June 18, 2010 2:05 PM

Anderson Cooper, Sean Penn, Wendie Malick, Anne Garrels, Dave Bryan, Pat Harvey, George P, Stana Katic. Ana Garcia, Jim Perry

America’s most famous immigrant, California Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger, joins Haiti recovery activist and Oscar winner Sean Penn in honoring CNN anchor Anderson Cooper at the LA Press Club’s Journalism Awards Gala, June 27 at the Biltmore Hotel, Downtown LA.

Anderson Cooper was the first American TV reporter on the scene in Haiti, following the catastrophic earthquake in January. He will be fittingly introduced by Sean Penn who placed himself in the midst of the devastation living in a tent among the Haitian people. Penn has assumed responsibility as the designated manager of one of the largest camps for Port-au-Prince survivors and is the co-founder of the J/P Haitian Relief Organization (J/P HRO). The NGO is dedicated to providing long term support for the people of Haiti following the tragic earthquake of 2010. Penn’s selfless efforts in Haiti are profiled in the July issue of Vanity Fair.

Hundreds of media professionals will take part in the Southland’s oldest and most distinguished journalism gala at the Biltmore’s historic Crystal Room, where the Oscars were born some 80 plus years ago. Winners in this all-media competition will receive their “Oscar”—a handsome plaque with the historic press club logo, a printing press dating back to Colonial America.

The presentations will be made by celebrity and media professionals, including Wendie Malick, Pat Harvey, Stana Katic, George Pennacchio and Ana Garcia.

Other top honors at the 52nd Annual Southern California Journalism Awards Gala will the go to NPR’s Anne Garrels and CBS2/KCAL political reporter Dave Bryan.

This year’s awards show is dedicated to the memory of Jim Perry, a “firefighter’s firefighter” and a longtime supporter of both the awards and the Los Angeles Press Club.

Bryan, a TV reporter for more than 30 years, first at KTTV and now at CBS2/KCAL9, will receive the Joseph M. Quinn Award for lifetime achievement, presented by “The First Lady of Anchor Women in Los Angeles,” Pat Harvey.

Anne Garrels is the 2010 recipient of the Daniel Pearl Award for courage in recognition of her selflessness in pursuing difficult, often dangerous stories over the years around the world. The award will be presented by Judea Pearl, father of the late Wall Street Journal reporter killed by Pakistani extremists in 2002.

“This star-studded night is a celebration of quality journalism,” says incoming Press Club President Will Lewis, a public radio pioneer based at KCRW-FM. “It serves as an inspiration for journalists who continue to uncover stories that matter despite unprecedented difficulties for all news media.”

The Club will honor quality reporting in print, radio, TV and online in Southern California for 2009. “Best of Show” Journalist of the Year will receive a $1,000 check.

Leave a Comment