A Night to Celebrate Journalism

Saturday, June 28, 2008 4:36 PM

The Los Angeles Press Club celebrated its 50th Annual Southern California Journalism Awards on June 21, honoring ABC’s Bob Woodruff with the Daniel Pearl Award for courage and integrity in journalism. KNBC’s Ana Garcia was the recipient of the Quinn Award for lifetime achievement, and the Los Angeles Times’ Steve Lopez received the President’s Award.

During the ceremony, which was dedicated to the memory of longtime broadcast newsman Hal Fishman, the club honored outstanding achievement among journalists in Southern California. The Los Angeles Times’ Melissa Healy was named top print journalist of the year at a large circulation newspaper, while Anat Rubin was the winner in the smaller-circulation category. Antonio Valverde of KMEX won television journalist honors, and Steven Cuevas of KPCC won the radio journalist honors.
See the complete list of winners
See photos from the gala
About this year’s Quinn Award winner, Ana Garcia
About this year’s Daniel Pearl Award winner, Bob Woodruff
About this year’s President’s Award winner, Steve Lopez

Leave a Comment