Bari Weiss is the 2021 LA Press Club Daniel Pearl Awardee

Bari Weiss is the recipient of the 2021 Daniel Pearl Award for Courage and Integrity in Journalism.

‘My father is Jewish, my mother is Jewish, I am Jewish. Daniel Pearl’s moving last words are true for me, too. I could not be prouder to be a Jew, and it’s impossible to express how honored I am to be receiving this prize, said Bari Weiss when she got the news.

Weiss is a journalist and the author of “How to Fight Anti-Semitism,” which won a 2019 National Jewish Book Award. From 2017 to 2020, Weiss was an opinion writer and editor at The New York Times. Before that, she was an op-ed and book review editor at The Wall Street Journal and a senior editor at Tablet Magazine.

Weiss is the winner of the inaugural Per Ahlmark Award in recognition of her moral courage. She is also the winner of Reason Foundation’s 2018 Bastiat Prize, which honors writing that “best demonstrates the importance of freedom with originality, wit, and eloquence.” In 2019, Vanity Fair called Weiss the Times’s “star opinion writer.”

She is a proud Pittsburgh native and a graduate of Columbia University. She writes a newsletter at and hosts a podcast called Honestly:

“The Daniel Pearl Foundation is thrilled to have Bari Weiss as recipient of the 2021 Daniel Pearl Award for Courage and Integrity in Journalism. Bari has earned this award for her persistent willingness to resist groupthink, her commitment to telling the truth, even when it’s politically inconvenient, and her courage in standing up for her people against the rising tide of antisemitism and Zionophobia,” said Judea Pearl in the name of the Daniel Pearl Foundation.

Since 2002, the Los Angeles Press Club in conjunction with Judea and Ruth Pearl, the parents of slain Wall Street Journal correspondent Daniel Pearl, have bestowed the Daniel Pearl Award to brave journalists from around the globe. The 2021 award will be presented by Judea Pearl at an Awards Gala Dinner at the Biltmore Hotel in Los Angeles on Saturday, October 16. Past recipients include Charlie Hebdo, Richard Engel, Anna Politkovskaya, Raif Badawi, Nima Elbagir and Bob Woodruff.

The other honorees are:
Dr. Sanjay Gupta, CNN — President’s Award for Impact on Media
Marc Brown, ABC7 — Joseph M Quinn Award for Lifetime Achievement,
Josie Huang, KPCC/LAist  — Guardian Award for Contributions to Press Freedom
Sean Penn and Ann LeeCORE — Bill Rosendahl Public Service Award for Contributions to Civic Life

The evening is dedicated to the memory of Ruth Pearl and longtime Press Club member Buster Sussman.

The SoCal Gala is a fundraiser for this 501c3 charitable organization and makes it possible for us to run the club and fund our educational programming for the rest of the year.

To buy tickets, advertise or sponsor this event with a tax-deductible donation go to or contact

LAPC is one of the oldest and most respected journalist organizations in the nation with a storied history of honoring the most celebrated reporters of the past century.   In recent years the Los Angeles Press Club has continued to uphold its tradition of acknowledging excellence in spite of the fact that Journalism itself has been under attack and struggled in the face of ever-declining budgets. 

2 Thoughts to “Bari Weiss is the 2021 LA Press Club Daniel Pearl Awardee”

  1. There is no one more deserving than Bari Weiss. She is the epitome of what this award stands for. Her courage is evident in speaking unpopular truths as a member of an industry that has been infiltrated and inundated with far left antisemites who would rather be activists promoting dishonest propaganda than speaking truthfully. She speaks for most liberals and most Jews.

  2. […] Los Angeles Press Club’s Southern California Journalism Awards Gala on Oct. 16 will be dedicated in Ruth Pearl’s […]

Leave a Comment