Bernard-Henri Lévy is the 2023 LA Press Club Daniel Pearl Awardee 

Bernard-Henri Lévy is the recipient of the 2023 Daniel Pearl Award for Courage and Integrity in Journalism. 

He is an internationally renowned philosopher, writer, filmmaker,and playwright who has written more than 40 books. His latest documentary “Slava Ukraini” is currently screening around the world.

“I take great honor in presenting the 2023 LA Press Club Daniel Pearl Award to Bernard-Henri Lévy, a true champion of humanity, whose life, writings and journeys so closely personify the meaning of the words: ‘Courage and Integrity in Journalism,’” said Judea Pearl on behalf of The Daniel Pearl Foundation, Danny’s family and friends. “Bernard-Henri Lévy has been at the forefront of the fight against antisemitism, the struggle of the Kurds for National recognition and, more recently, the fight of Ukraine for survival and independence. We are fortunate to present this Award to a journalist, author, filmmaker and philosopher who has done so much for the improvement of the human condition in our era.”

Born in Beni Saf, Algeria, in 1948, he was one of the founders of the “New Philosophers” movement. A committed intellectual, he is known for his opposition to authoritarianism in its manifold forms and as a proponent of the “duty to intervene.”

Known universally as BHL, he is a columnist for numerous periodicals in France and abroad and chairs the advisory board of the French media network Arte. He is the publisher of the review La Règle du jeu and manages the “Figures” collection at Grasset, a Paris publishing house. See his full bio here.

Since 2002, the Los Angeles Press Club in conjunction with Judea and Ruth Pearl, the parents of slain Wall Street Journal correspondent Daniel Pearl, have bestowed the Daniel Pearl Award on brave journalists from around the globe.

The 2023 award will be presented by Judea Pearl at an Awards Gala Dinner at the Biltmore hotel in Los Angeles on Sunday, June 25.

Past recipients include Nima Elbagir, Charlie Hebdo, Richard Engel, Anna Politkovskaya, Raif Badawi and Bob Woodruff.

The evenings’ other honorees are:
Giselle Fernandez, Spectrum News 1President’s Award for Impact on Media
David Ono, ABC7Joseph M Quinn Award for Lifetime Achievement
Alene Tchekmedyian, Los Angeles Times — Guardian Award for Contributions to Press Freedom

The evening is dedicated to Ukrainian journalists and Evan Gershkovich, the Wall Street Journal journalist wrongfully imprisoned in Russia.

The SoCal Gala is a fundraiser for this 501c3 charitable organization and makes it possible for us to run the club, provide much-needed scholarships, grants and fellowships to journalists from underserved communities as well as fund our educational programming for the rest of the year.

To buy tickets, advertise or sponsor this event with a tax-deductible donation go to or contact

LAPC is one of the oldest and most respected journalist organizations in the nation with a storied history of honoring the most celebrated reporters of the past century. In recent years the Los Angeles Press Club has continued to uphold its tradition of acknowledging excellence in spite of the fact that Journalism itself has been under attack and struggled in the face of ever-declining budgets.

Related posts