Jane Seymour to Receive the LA Press Club’s Public Service Award

Actress, producer, artist and philanthropist Jane Seymour has been named the Los Angeles Press Club’s 2024 Bill Rosendahl Public Service Awardee.

“While Jane Seymour has entertained audiences through memorable film and TV roles, she also has made many contributions off-screen,” said LA Press Club President Lisa Richwine. “She encourages kindness and helping others through the Open Heart Foundation and has inspired women by speaking up about ageism.”

Ms. Seymour is a multiple Emmy and Golden Globe winner and recipient of the Officer of the British Empire (OBE). She has proven her talents in virtually all media, the Broadway stage, motion pictures and television.  Her love of art and color has led to her great success as an artist and designer.

Seymour currently stars in the series “Harry Wild” for Acorn TV and made history with her six-season “Dr. Quinn, Medicine Woman” series, blazing a trail for family-worthy programming to return to TV, broadcasted in nearly 100 countries.

She has starred in many classic movies, including “Lassiter” with Tom Selleck, “Somewhere in Time” with Christopher Reeve and “Live and Let Die” opposite Roger Moore — and has never stopped working.

On Broadway, she originated the role of Constanza in the Tony Award-winning production of “Amadeus,” and the list goes on.

Actively involved in numerous charitable causes, but maybe most known for her Open Heart Foundation, Seymour supports children in need, creates awareness for Women’s Heart Health and much more.

She has six children and six grandchildren.

Full bio here.

The Public Service Award will be presented at the 66th SoCal Journalism Awards Gala on Sunday, June 23 at the Millennium Biltmore Hotel.

The full line-up is as follows:

Jane Seymour — The Bill Rosendahl Public Service Award
Stephen A Smith — The Joseph M. Quinn Award for Lifetime Achievement
Evan Gershkovich — The Daniel Pearl Award for Courage and Integrity in Journalism
Amanda Salas — The President’s Award for Impact on Media
Mickey H. Osterreicher — The Guardian Award for Contributions to Press Freedom

The evening is dedicated to the memory of Ruth Ashton Taylor and Sam Rubin.

Ruth Ashton Taylor was the first female newscaster in Los Angeles and the only woman on Edward R Murrow’s postwar radio documentary unit. She died in California earlier this year at age 101.

Sam Rubin was a long-time entertainment reporter for KTLA and a well-loved TV personality.

More than 500 journalists and media executives are expected to attend this prestigious event.

The SoCal Journalism Awards Gala is a fundraiser for this 501c3 charitable organization and makes it possible for us to fund our educational programming and our mentorship program for young journalists from underserved communities, as well as provide grants for investigative journalism, for defending the First Amendment, and give out scholarships and much more. All contributions are tax-deductible.

For more information about this event or to sponsor, advertise or buy tickets go to www.LApressclub.org or contact Executive Director Diana Ljungaeus at 310.210.1860 or email Diana-AT-LApressclub.org.

The LAPC is one of the oldest and most respected journalist organizations in the nation with a storied history of honoring the most celebrated reporters of the past century. In recent years, the Los Angeles Press Club has continued to uphold its tradition of acknowledging excellence in spite of the fact that journalism itself has struggled in the face of ever-declining budgets.

Related posts