KTLA’s Sam Rubin Roasted and Honored as Reporters and Bloggers Recognized @ 3rd Annual National Entertainment Journalism Awards

Friday, April 23, 2010 1:47 PM
See KTLAs Sam Rubin get roasted@LAPressClub Natl Entertainment Journalism Awards where he wins for career achievement: http://ow.ly/1CIzF
NEJ Winner-Best of Show goes to the Detroit Free Press and Freep.com for Motown at 50 multi-media website. $500 check.

HOLLYWOOD, CA. The Detroit Free Press and Freep.coms Motown at 50 online entertainment project won Best of Show and a $500 check at the Los Angeles Press Clubs 3rd Annual National Entertainment Journalism Awards Thursday night inHollywood.

The best entertainment website beat out first place winners in 15 other categories, from show business reporters and media organizations across the nationfrom Alaska to Kansas City.
The LA Weeklys chief film critic Scott Foundas, now with the New York Film Festival, walked away with two awards, including Print Critic of the Year. KABC Channel 7s George Pennacchio also scored two wins in the TV news and feature categories.
KTLA entertainment reporter Sam Rubin was roasted by screenwriter Stephen Mazur and KTLA anchor Jessica Holmes and received the top individual award for career achievement. Last years award went to Joe Morgenstern, KCRW and Wall Street Journal film critic.

Below are the NEJ 2010 Winnerspresented by Los Angeles Press Club..
A1. Print News
Winner: Kyle Hopkins, Anchorage Daily News, E.T. go Nome?
A2a. Print Feature or Series over 1,000 Words
Winner: Richard Siklos, Fortune, The Fight Over Michaels Millions
Second Place: Anthony Effinger and Daniel Taub, Bloomberg Markets, All Shook Up
Honorable Mention: Martha Sarabia, La Opinion, Telenovelas
A2b. Print FeaturePersonality Profile Over 1,000 words
Winner: Scott Foundas, L.A. Weekly, Boxing, Sex and Madness: Mike Tyson, James Toback and the Ties that Bind.
Second Place: Robert Gordon, Playboy, Soul Man
Honorable Mention: Eric Spitznagel, Playboy, Andy Richter Grows Up
A3. Print Feature under 1,000 Words
Winner: Lisa Ingrassia, People, Kelly Osbourne: I knew if I didnt get help, I would die
Second Place: Martha Sarabia, La Opinion, The Venezuelan Export Gustavo Dudamel
Honorable Mention: Jeanne Wolf, Parade, Have Faith in Something Big
A4. Print Critic of the Year
Winner:Scott Foundas, L.A. Weekly, body of work
Honorable Mention: Lavender Vroman, Antelope Valley Press
A5. Best Entertainment Publication
Winner:Lavender Vroman, Julie Jane Rios, Steve Galbreath, Antelope Valley Press Showcase
Second Place: Drex Heikes, Tom Christie, Scott Foundas, L.A. Weekly Film Issue
B1. TV News

Winner:George Pennacchio, KABC/7, Oscar Pre-Show
B2. TV Feature/Series
Winner: George Pennacchio, KABC/7, Crips and Bloods
Second Place: George Pennacchio, KABC, Misty Upham
Honorable Mention: Shawn Edwards, Fox 4 News, Kansas City, Chat with the Stars
B3. TV Critic of the Year
The judges awarded no winner and encouraged TV entertainment critics to submit their most thoughtful commentary in 2011
C1. Radio News
Winner: Barbara Gasser, KroneHit, Austria, Court decision on Chris Browns assault on Rihanna
C2. Radio Feature/Series
Winner: John DeSando and Kristin Dreyer Kramer, WCBE 90.5 FM, Columbus, Ohio, Its Movie Times Year in Review
Second Place: Brian Lauritzen and Gail Eichenthal, KUSC Los Angeles Arts Alive, Nancy Bea Hefley
Honorable Mention: Scott Immergut and Matt Holzman, KCRW Los Angeles The Business, Disney Convention
C3. Radio Critic of the Year
Winner:Joe Morgenstern, KCRW, Los Angeles
Second Place: Matt Holzman, KCRW, Los Angeles
Honorable Mention: John DeSando and Kristin Dreyer, WCBE 90.5 FM, Columbus, Ohio
D1. Online News
Winner:Andrew Gumbel, TheWrap.com, The Wrap Investigates the Closure of the Motion Picture & Television Fund Long-term Care Center
Second Place: Sharon Waxman, TheWrap.com,Exclusive: Comcast in Talks to Buy Universal
Honorable Mention: Jeanne Wolf, Parade.com, Saying Goodbye Isnt Easy
D2. Online Feature/Series
Winner:Zachary Pincus-Roth, Slate.com, Best Weekend Never
Second Place: Steven Mikulan, TheWrap.com
Honorable Mention: Brad Schreiber, HuffingtonPost.com, Athol Fugard: Art Battling Apartheid and Aids
D3. Online Entertainment Critic of the Year
Winner: Peter Rainer, CSMonitor.com, 2009 body of work
Second Place: Rick Warner, Bloomberg News
Honorable Mention: Desson Thomson, TheWrap.com

D4. Entertainment Website
Winner:Detroit Free Press and Freep.com, Motown at 50
Second Place: The Wrap, TheWrap.com
Honorable Mention: Shawn Edwards and Valerie Freeman, ILoveBlackMovies.com
D5. Entertainment Blog by an Individual
Winner:Tom Tangney, MyNorthwest.com
Second Place: Shawn Edwards, ILoveBlackMovies.com
BEST IN SHOW, $500 Prize:
Detroit Free Press, Freep.com, Motown at 50.

KABC radio reporter and TV producer Michael Linder emceed the annual event at the Steve Allen Theater in Hollywood.
The Los Angeles Press Club stands as an organization devoted to improving the spirit of journalism and journalists, raising the industrys standards, strengthening its integrity and improving its reputation all for the benefit of the community at large. Serving the Southland since 1913, it is the only Southern California journalism group that speaks for all journalists working for daily and weekly newspapers, radio & TV, magazines, documentary films and online. For more information, go to https://lapressclub.org.
PR Newswire, co-sponsor for all Los Angeles Press Club events, is the global leader in news and information distribution services for professional communicators. For more information, go to www.prnewswire.com.

Headington Media Groupis a boutique communications firm dedicated to promoting public affairs and journalism in Southern California and specializes in image management, branding, messaging and public relations. For more information, go to www.headingtonmedia.com.

In partnership with:

Join the Press Club Mailing List!

The Los Angeles Press Club

4773 Hollywood Blvd., Hollywood, CA 90027

Related posts