Creators of “Surviving R. Kelly” to Receive the LA Press Club’s President’s Award

The creative team behind the Lifetime Network documentary series “Surviving R. Kelly” has been named the Los Angeles Press Club’s 2019 Presidents Awardee for Impact on Media.

“The Surviving R. Kelly team has done what every journalist aspires to do: tell a compelling story that prompts change and that also speaks to a broader issue which needs to be addressed. Their documentary is the very definition of work we want to recognize with our President’s Award for Impact on Media,” said Press Club President Chris Palmeri, Bureau Chief at Bloomberg Los Angeles.

The documentary led to R. Kelly being indicted on ten counts of aggravated criminal sexual abuse and the #MuteRKelly campaign aimed at stopping his music from being played and streamed.

The President’s Award will be presented at the 61st SoCal Journalism Awards Gala on Sunday, June 30th at the Biltmore Millennium Hotel, downtown LA. The five executive producers accepting the award are Tamra Simmons, Brie Miranda Bryant, Jesse Daniels, dream hampton and Joel Karsberg.

“We are extremely honored to be recognized by the LA Press Club for this distinguished President’s Award for Impact on Media. Surviving R. Kelly has propelled a movement, igniting a much needed global conversation around sexual violence that transcends both race and gender divides. This documentary is proof that powerful content can impact culture even after the hour is over. We are thankful for organizations like the LA Press Club who in recognizing this documentary, have continued to amplify the voices of these survivors,” said Brie Miranda Bryant SVP unscripted development and programming, Lifetime and executive producer for Surviving R. Kelly.

In addition to honoring the Surviving R. Kelly team, Jim Hill, sports anchor at CBS2, Los Angeles will receive the Joseph M Quinn for Lifetime Achievement. CNN Senior International Correspondent Nima Elbagir will be bestowed the Daniel Pearl Award for Courage and Integrity in Journalism and the Bill Rosendahl Public Service Award will be presented to Henry Winkler.

The evening will be dedicated to the memory of Jamal Khashoggi, the Washington Post columnist who was assassinated at the Saudi-Arabian Embassy in Istanbul, Turkey in October of last year.

Related posts

One Thought to “Creators of “Surviving R. Kelly” to Receive the LA Press Club’s President’s Award”

  1. […] named on the Time 100 list of most influential people. The docuseries was the recipient of the 2019 LA Press Club President’s Award for Impact on […]

Comments are closed.