Encouraging serious journalism in Southern California

  SOCAL AWARDS     Presidents     Daniel Pearl     Quinn     Public Service    NAEJ AWARDS     Visionary     Luminary   

Free Speech After Charlie Hebdo and “The Interview”

Has anything changed on how we look at the first amendment after the attack on Charlie Hebdo in Paris and the cyber attack on Sony?

Join us for an interesting conversation at Los Angeles press club.

Patrick Chappotte — He is the famous Pakistan-born Lebanese-Swiss cartoonist, simply known as Chappotte. He draws a twice-weekly cartoon in the Opinion section of The International New York Times. Over the years, he has collaborated with editorial cartoonists in conflict-ridden countries with the goal of promoting dialogue through cartooning. In 2011, Chappatte won the Overseas Press Club of America’s Thomas Nast Award for best cartoons on international affairs, becoming the first non-American to win this prize.

Salam Al-Marayati — President of MPAC, the Muslim Public Affairs Council. MPAC works for the civil rights of American muslims, and for there integration of Islam into American pluralism.

Guillaume Serina — LA-based French journalist and author.

Moderator: LA Press Club President Robert Kovacik, Anchor/Reporter at NBC4 Southern California.

WHEN: Thursday, January 29 at 7 pm
WHERE: Los Angeles Press Club at Steve Allen Theater, 4773 Hollywood Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90027
Plenty of free parking behind the building (enter from Berendo)
Metro Red Line Sunset/Vermont

The event is open to the public and free to LA Press Club members. RSVP & Tickets

Purple Party for Louise Monaco

On January 15 the world became a little bit less purple. On this day Louise Monaco, Los Angeles Press Club’s super volunteer, passed away after a short illness.
Many of you knew her as the Purple Lady, for the way she “purplefied” everything she touched. If there were flowers on the table, they were purple; if she brought you a gift, it was wrapped in purple paper. She drove a purple car, wore purple clothes, purple shoes, jewelry and her signature round, purple glasses.

To celebrate her life, LA Press Club and CFI West (where she also was a super volunteer) are throwing a Purple Party.

WHEN: Wed., Jan. 28. at 7 pm. Remembrances starting at 7.30 pm.

WHAT: Wear something purple and bring a story or not. Food and drinks will be provided.

WHERE: The Steve Allen Theater lobby.

Louise wanted her body donated to science and no funeral service. She also requested that any memorials in her honor should be given to the charity of your choice. RSVP

Black History Month Celebration

The New, Multimedia One-Man Show, Ghost in the House, starring Tony Todd (Candyman) to be followed by a conversation about race in America, moderator: Brian Watt.

Before Barack Obama and MLK, before Jackie Robinson, Paul Robeson and Medgar Evers, before Malcolm X and Muhammad Ali, before Ferguson and "I can't breathe"-- there was Jack Johnson, the first African-American Heavyweight Boxing Champion who defied the powers that be.

Ghost in the House recounts the racism and vindictiveness of White America against a man whose talents went way beyond the ring. Johnson was a musician, raconteur, entertainer, horse jockey, bullfighter, inventor, race car driver and secret agent during World War I. He was an infamous Lothario who flaunted his flashy lifestyle in the face of contemporary mores. Jack Johnson was the catalyst for celebrations, condemnations, deadly riots and outrage from all sides of the racial divide. He was also the most famous Black man in the worldundefinedand one of the most misunderstood.

Tony Todd stars in Ghost in the House written by Ernie Hudson and Frank Megna and directed by Megna. The show will be offered to both amateur and professional theater organizations as a packaged, multimedia production. During its initial run, cultural and educational institutions will be given priority with a New York production as the ultimate goal.

This special performance is part of Los Angeles Press Club’s Black History Month celebration.

Los Angeles Press Club @ Steve Allen Theater
4773 Hollywood Blvd.
Los Angeles, CA 90027

Thursday, February 26, 2015 from 7:00 PM to 9:30 PM (PDT) RSVP & Tickets

Daniel Pearl Award to Charlie Hebdo

HOLLYWOOD, CA January 12, 2015: The Los Angeles Press Club is proud to announce that the 2015 Daniel Pearl Award for Courage and Integrity in Journalism will go to Charlie Hebdo.

“We are deeply honored. Of course, we’ll accept," said Gerard Biard, Editor-in-Chief of Charlie Hebdo.

“No act of terrorism can stop freedom of speech. Giving the Daniel Pearl Award to Charlie Hebdo is a strong message to that effect,” said LA Press Club President Robert Kovacik of NBC4 Southern California...read more...


7th National Arts & Entertainment Journalism Awards

see winners entries here

Click here for more pictures

Gloria Allred received the Inaugural "Elgy" Award

  See More Photos: Click here

An Evening With 
Conchita Wurst
Click here for more pictures

Pictures and Videos from Frontiersmedia.com by Karen Ocamb - click here

Join Today

The Los Angeles Press Club has supported the growth and conservation of quality journalism on all platforms since 1913. The club’s efforts include the nourishment and recognition of talent, as well as working to preserve the right to a free press. Sign up to join our efforts to stimulate quality journalism in Southern California.


    Membership Benefits



      Apply for Press ID
The Los Angeles Press Club is the official distributor of the Los Angeles Press Identification Card. This card identifies you as a working journalist in Los Angeles.


Photos & Videos

LA Press Club

A non-profit organization with 501(c)(3) status
Tax ID 01-0761875

4773 Hollywood Boulevard
Los Angeles, California 90027
Phone: (323) 669-8081
Fax: (310) 464-3577

Robert KovacikNBC4 SoCal
Patt MorrisonLos Angeles Times
Anthony PalazzoBloomberg News
Gloria ZuurveenPace News

Diana Ljungaeus
International Journalist

Cher Calvin, KTLA
Barbara GasserHollywood Foreign Press Association
Gabriel KahnUSC Annenberg
Fernando MexiaSpanish EFE News Service
Tony PierceAcademy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences
Adam J. Rose 
Carolina Sarassa
Ben SullivanScienceBlog.com
Brian WattKPCC

 Alex Ben Block
Ted Johnson
Will Lewis

Eli Broad
Rick J. Caruso
Madeline Di Nonno
David W. Fleming
Sherry Lansing
George E. Moss
Constance L. Rice
Hon. Richard J. Riordan
Ramona Ripston
Hon. Bill Rosendahl
Angelica Salas
Carol E. Schatz
Gary L. Toebben
Matt Toledo
Stuart Waldman

Upcoming events









Copyright © 2014 Los Angeles Press Club - All Rights Reserved

"Los Angeles Press Club" is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization. 4773 Hollywood Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90027

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software