LAPC in Action

Follow Me on Pinterest

LAPC Tweets


89.3 FM

Los Angeles Press Club
A non-profit organization with
501(c)(3) status
Tax ID 01-0761875

4773 Hollywood Boulevard
Los Angeles, California 90027
Phone: (323) 669-8081
Fax: (310) 464-3577


Robert Kovacik

Vice President
Patt Morrison
Los Angeles Times/KPCC

Anthony Palazzo
Bloomberg News

Christina Villacorte
Los Angeles Daily News

Gloria Zuurveen
Pace News

Executive Director
Diana Ljungaeus
International Journalist



Maria Armoudian

Barbara Gasser
International Journalist

Jahan Hassan
Ekush News

Fernando Mexia
Spanish EFE News Service

Tony Pierce
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences

Carolina Sarassa

53rd Journalism Awards Gala, June 26

Awards Gala video 




60 MINUTES’ Correspondent Lesley Stahl, NBC News Senior Foreign Correspondent Richard Engel and KTTV’s John Schwada were honored at the LA Press Club’s 53rd Journalism Awards Gala, Sunday June 26 in the legendary Crystal Ballroom at the historic Biltmore  in downtown LA.

The club presented its first Public Service Award to the two LA Times reporters who broke the Bell salary scandal–Ruben Vives and Jeff Gottlieb.

Reason Magazine’s Radley Balko, who was Print  Journalist of the Year (circulation under 50,000) was named Best of Show Journalist of the Year and received $1,000.

Richard Engel, NBC News Chief Foreign Correspondent, accepted the Daniel Pearl Award for Courage and Integrity. Engel told the large banquet audience that, even today, the death of the Wall Street Journal reporter strikes fear in foreign correspondents, especially those who like Engel cover the middle east.

Lesley  Stahl, 60 MINUTES Correspondent, could not accept in person her award for impact on the media. As she explained in a video shot on the TV newsmagazine’s set, she had a medical procedure and her doctor refused for her to travel.

Actors Ed Asner, Dan Lauria, Walter Goggins, Denise Grayson, Ray Abruzzo and Barbara Niven were among the presenters, as were talk show host Patt Morrison and LA Weekly’s Jill Stewart. Comedian Alonzo Bodden “roasted” the reporters and Jack Maxwell returned as MC.

 53RD INVITE 2011 |



2 comments to 53rd Journalism Awards Gala, June 26