53rd Journalism Awards Gala, June 26

Friday, June 10, 2011 6:52 PM

60 MINUTES’ Correspondent Lesley Stahl, NBC News Senior Foreign Correspondent Richard Engel and KTTV’s John Schwada were honored at the LA Press Club’s 53rd Journalism Awards Gala, Sunday June 26 in the legendary Crystal Ballroom at the historic Biltmore in downtown LA.

The club presented its first Public Service Award to the two LA Times reporters who broke the Bell salary scandal–Ruben Vives and Jeff Gottlieb.

Reason Magazine’s Radley Balko, who was Print Journalist of the Year (circulation under 50,000) was named Best of Show Journalist of the Year and received $1,000.

Richard Engel, NBC News Chief Foreign Correspondent, accepted the Daniel Pearl Award for Courage and Integrity. Engel told the large banquet audience that, even today, the death of the Wall Street Journal reporter strikes fear in foreign correspondents, especially those who like Engel cover the middle east.

Lesley Stahl, 60 MINUTES Correspondent, could not accept in person her award for impact on the media. As she explained in a video shot on the TV newsmagazine’s set, she had a medical procedure and her doctor refused for her to travel.

Actors Ed Asner, Dan Lauria, Walter Goggins, Denise Grayson, Ray Abruzzo and Barbara Niven were among the presenters, as were talk show host Patt Morrison and LA Weekly’s Jill Stewart. Comedian Alonzo Bodden “roasted” the reporters and Jack Maxwell returned as MC.

Related posts